“Beautiful melodicism…majestic three-part harmony. Austin’s long been rich with Americana talent, and Western Youth rises near the top of the heap….” 

-Austin American Statesman 


In 2018, Austin's  Western Youth returned with their first recording in five years that’s seen profound life changes and a sublime new band line-up. 

Recorded in Austin, the sextet’s full-length debut album was produced by Western Youth, mixed by Britton Beisenherz and mastered by Steve Berson (The Foo Fighters, Sharon Jones and The Dap Kings) and features eleven original tracks. 

Western Youth’s personal transitions provide the backdrop for this collection of songs that stagger artfully between Americana, folk and honest American rock and roll. Smart, moody lyrics and sublime three/four-part harmonies meld with searing guitar riffs and intricate arrangements showcasing a defiant yet evolving band on the rise. 

This year has seen auspicious growth for Western Youth with the addition of two new band members: Mark Nathan (formerly of Heartless Bastards) on guitar and Chris Spencer (Darkbird) on bass.  Western Youth, which was named after the poem “Pioneers! O Pioneers!” by Walt Whitman also features Graham Weber (guitar, vocals); Brian Bowe (drums); Taylor Williams (guitar, vocals) and Sam Powell (keys). 

Looking ahead, fans will have a chance to catch Western Youth’s relentless live show when they hit the road.

The band is also back in the studio to finish their next album.